Octatrack and Ableton Live

Hi

Im quite new to the octatrack and was wondering how you guys are using it with Ableton Live? I want to make a template that would (a group of channels) that would give me the best interconnection between the octatrack and ableton live. Any tips?

Cheers

1 Like

Not meaning to hijack the thread, but I would also like to know on a more general level. I come from software land and am new to hardware. How does one usually make a software sequencer and something like the OT or Machinedrum work together? What roles do you have for each piece of [virtual] gear?

IĀ“ve been using the ableton midi sequencer with the machinedrum. I prefer it to the internal sequencer when doing basic drum tracks. When I want something a bit more bizarre I use the internal sequencer and go crazy on the p-locks.

Any advice using the octatrack with ableton live for a seamless flow?

Since a perfect MIDI sync with Ableton is only really possible with some expensive equipment, I tend to compose stuff on the OT then record it into Ableton and go from there.

You canā€™t really make use of scenes/timestretch playing over stuff youā€™ve composed in Live (unless you want to finely tweak your quantize settings for every track), because (in my experience) itā€™s always ever so slightly off and ends up being more trouble than itā€™s worth.

However, Ableton is very good at adapting to your recordings, and the OT kinda begs to be used by itself or as part of a hardware setup without the computer until you record.

Also: always be sure to set your tempo on Ableton and the OT before you record (unless youā€™ve found a way to sync without tons of drift)- great way to create extra work is to realize the Ableton tempo is still sitting at 120 when your track is 95.

3 Likes