OctaTip ~ MIDI Turing Machine

This may be an obvious one for some but I’m still learning OT.
I didn’t see anyone posting this technique here so wanted to document it in hope that it might possibly help some other OT noobs!

The Basic Idea
You can use the LFO designer on MIDI tracks to get a pseudo ‘Turing Machine’, IE a random repeating sequence generator.
https://www.soundonsound.com/reviews/music-thing-modular-turing-machine-mkii

The Technique

1. setup a midi channel as usual to output midi to an external synth
  2. on the LFO page, set the PMTR to note.
  3. on the LFO page, set an LFO to use an LFO designer wave (eg TRK1)
  4. open the chosen LFO designer (TRK 1) and randomize (double tap YES)
  5. back on the LFO page, set the TRIG mode to HOLD
  6. on LFO page, set the MULT, SPEED and DEP to your liking (eg SPD=24, MULT=16 will have a 1 bar repeating cycle)
  7. Open the GRID and drop a trig on every step.
  8. Press play

If all worked out, you should have a 1 bar 16 step repeating sequence.

Some extras
Once you have this setup you can play about with all the other parameters OT offers to dive into customizing it!

1. On the designer page - func + left/right will shift the LFO by 1 step in either direction
  2. Changing the depth parm on LFO page to increase the range
  3. Instead of mapping the LFO to NOTE you can map it to ARP transpose, then set the ARP to a single note and set a scale, now you have a scale quantized random sequence!

Questions
Is there a way to always sync the first step of an LFO to begin at the same place so that it doesn’t change every stop/start. On DT you can p-lock the first trig’s trig mode, doesn’t seem possible on OT?

Hopefully this is useful for someone!

Edit:
If you have a drum machine that has midi notes mapped to individual gates (eg rytm using the low end of the midi piano roll) then you can get some weird randomized / generative drum patterns too!