Not making the music I intend to make

I wonder if anyone else experiences this. I’m pretty new to producing so keep that in mind…

I sit down at the Digitakt with an idea in my head for a straight ahead Robert Hood style techno banger or a simple hip hop breakbeat loop.

2 hours later I have this weird, experimental, glitchy, garbling piece of music…parts of which sound cool and I’m happy with, but I have no idea what to do with or if I even want to take it any further.

Then I do it all again and have another completely weird, slightly danceable pattern that sounds nothing like the first one, almost in a completely different style.

I wonder how much of this is me being new and not really knowing how to get where I want to go, but I wonder if part of it has to do with the nature of Elektron boxes? For example, I only recently discovered how to P-lock live filter knob changes and have become addicted to utilizing that because I get such cool sounds. But it always ends up like a dish with too much and too many spices, I think.

I wondered if I was using (for example) Roland boxes would it naturally push me to make more straight ahead traditional dance music sounds?

Anyone else feel like the boxes they use overly influence their sound or is this something that just improves with more experience?

9 Likes

When I started making music I found it really hard to control what music I was making. But with experience I feel it is much easier to have a plan and (mostly) stick to it. My impression is that this is common for all types of musicians, so I don’t think the gear is to blame.