No Sound?

Hey everyone,

total newbie here inn the forum as well as with Elektron devices. I started around 2 years back with a midi keyboard and a Korg Volca samples. The possibilities of the M:C seem endless so I ordered one which finally arrived after 2 and a half weeks time.

I had to recognise that the audio out, as well as the hp out, are 6.3mm jacks (Korg is going with a 3.5mm hp out and I use regular RCA cables for my DDJ400). Gonna get some asap but with the lockdown in Ireland this can be a pain in the assā€¦

However, I have a 3.5 to 6.3mm jack adapter which I tried to use with my headphones on the M:C but for some reason I dont get any sound.

I googled and didnā€™t find anything, so sorry already for my lack of knowledge but I want to learn something :smile:

Thanks guys and have a great day!

hi, welcome to the forumā€¦ does your headphone have a microphone? i had issues with adapters before, when the 3,5mm headphone jack has 4 polesā€¦ if so, try to wiggle it a little and do not stick it un the adapter completelyā€¦

1 Like

Hey @308 , welcome to the community.

please check whether your headphones are TRS or TRRS. (Headset vs headphones)

It will only work with TRS.

2 Likes

Thanks for the kind words nionmu!

Yeah, those are Bowers & Wilkins P5 Wireless with a headset function included. They have the possibility to be used with a wire (3.5mm jack output) and I use them for DJing all the time. But you could be right with that, I will give it a try now and see if something changes. Also the adapters are cheap, maybe thatā€™s the reason but good to know that this can happen.

In general, if I go and buy 2 x 6.3mm Jack cables I should be able to connect them to my studio monitors, or wonā€™t I?

Thanks,

Thanks mate, I guess that is my problemā€¦

Checked it now and it is definitely a TRS on all my 3.5mms. Is it possible that the adapter is broken or simply not working? Any chance to test if there is an active sound output?