My data on my Machinedrum reseted while using MaxMSP and gamepad w/ a PS5 Controller on Firmware X .10

This topic is a documentation of me troubleshooting losing all my Machinedrum data after playing a live set with a patch I made in MaxMSP using the gamepad object & a PS5 controller.

So I own an Elektron Machinedrum SPS-1 MK2 that has Firmware X .10 on it. I’ve been using MaxMSP 8.62 & the gamepad object to control my Machinedrum with a PS5 controller in a custom patch I made. I played a rap show a couple nights ago where I was just jammingmaking sounds on the Machinedrum with my MaxMSP patch and PS5 controller. I’m new to MaxMSP, I just started using it a couple weeks ago.

I had a very strange thing happen to me. After I played my set, successfully recorded all the audio into my laptop through FL Studio then exporting my full set, and went back to check on my Machinedrum later that night, I noticed all my kits, patterns, songs, and even global settings were reset back to some default factory settings and all my data was cleared out. The Firmware X .10 was still installed on it though. Really weird. I played my set pretty smoothly though & got the full recording I’m going to make visuals with using Jitter & post online later.

Brief Breakdown of Patch:

I used midi cc data from the Machinedrum to map the CTRL-AL parameters to the analog sticks on my PS5 Dualsense controller (specifically Retrig on “left x”, Retrig Time on “right x”, Pitch on “left y” & Pitch Bend on “right y”). Then I mapped the d-pad, X Square Triangle Circle, and the left and right shoulders on the trigs to trigger the percussion sounds. I mapped the start button so when you click it on & off, it plays and stops the current sequence on the Machinedrum, & I mapped the Playstation home button to switch Serum FX on/off (I didn’t end up using that in my set).

Laptop Specs: https://qr.inc.hp.com/qr/specs?cc=us&fl&ll=en&occ=&oll=&pn=1A1L0UA&rd=1