MPC to Octatrack... Thoughts?

I’m a noob to the all of these Elektron devices. I’ve noticed them over the year but ignored them. Never really gave them any thought, nor did any research on them. Recently I decided to research the Octatrack and I have to say Im really impressed with it’s capabilities. I’m a former MPC2500 user but now I’m heavy on Ableton and the PUSH 2 controller.

About 2 months ago I finally decided to sell my 2500 (a decision that I slightly regret now :pensive:) because Ableton/Push 2 does everything the MPC’s can do but much faster. My entire setup is pretty much in-the-box. I own a Mininova and Triton but everything else is software. So my dilemma… well not really a dilemma as much as my effort to incorporate a hardware sampler in my setup. I mostly produced hip-hop. Sampling and chopping is my bread and butter.

So… I would like to gain some insight from veteran Elektron users on what benefits the Octatrack may have over an MPC? I’m not looking to see which is better, because they are both great machine. I’m saying for someone whom is sampler, chops samples (Dilla is my muse) and loves to make a sample his own, what benefits do the Octatrack have over the MPC? If any…

The sequencer videos I have watched on the Octatrack really intimidate me. It doesn’t look as intuitive / straight-forward as an MPC. I would love to gain some insight on what the learning curve is like as well. I’m ready to pull the trigger, but hesitating because I’m unsure.

Any help would be MUCH appreciated! :slight_smile:

1 Like

I’m not a MPC veteran ^^
But I can tell you what makes Elektron machines different : mainly the fact that you can record the automation of knobs during the playback, the same way you can in Ableton, thus “sculpting” the sound very easily.
And this for any parameter : on OT, this would be volume, retrig, sample slice, LP filter freq, etc. etc.