Model:Samples – Sound Envelope Capabilities

As a M:C user I think about buying a M:S to increase my track count and to add new sound possibilities. What do I want to do with it? The sounds on the M:C usually have an emphasis on the beginning, what would be normal/good for a drum-like sound. On the other side I’d like to bring in melodic and soft sounds, like e.g. cello, viola, duduk and such, or similar electronic sounds.

On the M:C the only way is to use the ENV setting of the lfo for that, what in return means, that the lfo is lost for other sound manipulations.

My thought now is: If I could prepare samples with a soft start and load them up to the M:S, how would that work? Here a couple of questions came up, where I’m not experienced and also did not find specific answers up to now. So maybe some experienced of you could give me some answers to my questions:

• What means decay, does it start after the sample is played or does it fade out (from sample beginning) the running sample?- So, does it shortcut the sample or enwiden it?
  • What is the difference between note LEN setting and sample length (encoder knob)? Does the latter just have a meaning if sample looping is on?
  • What possibilities do I have with the loop button and single cycle wave forms to generate an organ like tone, means: start with the button press, stop when letting the button go and no decay wanted? I assume, that I can control the attack just with the ENV lfo setting. But if looping, does the note length set the end? Or how can the length of a tone be controlled?
  • And how behaves decay when sample looping is on? Maybe this is the same question, as my first…

Many thanks in advance for your answers.

I got M:S after M:C and found it wasn’t what I wanted … so long term users may have different answers to me, but here goes.

• decay starts immediately with the beginning of a note
  • note LEN I’m pretty sure only makes a difference to the outgoing midi, not internal sound generation