Model Samples MIDI Play/Stop

Hi all, looking at the midi specs in the manual and can’t see any transport controls. Surely I can play/stop via midi in? Can someone confirm?

Yes, it’s a standard MIDI message - if your external device can send this then that’s all that you need to do presuming you have the ports open to allow this via either MIDI (using a proper dongle) or USB

either way you need to enable Transport Receive and maybe ensure your USB port is taking Midi

You’ll need to look through your settings or the manual to set those up

2 Likes

ahhhhh thank you, didn’t think to try standard start stop messages!

1 Like

Hey guys,

I do have the same request because I am mostly using the M:S as a drum machine.

I am also quite new to MIDI, so how do you send a standard Play/Stop MIDI Msg?
As far as I know, it is only possible to send three types of data PC, CC, and notes. So what is Play & Stop in MIDI ?

(Because the only way I can play and stop my M:S is via Clock control from an external device).

If they’re is a fourth type I guess my midi pedal does not handle it (Ampero control)…

Welcome to the forum!

Your device would have to send standard MIDI messages that are literally named “Start” and “Stop”.

The online manual for the Ampero Control pedal states that, as you noted, it only supports Program Change, Control Change, and Note messages. It cannot currently send Start or Stop messages.

In order to use that device you would have to have another MIDI processing device to convert messages that it can send into Start and Stop messages.

Well, Peter Hanes, thanks for your answer. I sure should have paid more attention to the Ampero control’s manual but I thought play/stop could be triggered via PC or CC. MIDI is not that simple and it is suprising to see that to get very simple functions, you need to reach quite expensive gear (MC6 for instance). I’ll try to find a device converting MIDI messages into play and stop.
Would you have a suggestion?