Midi question

I want to use my faderfox EC4 with some gear but also wanted to sync that gear with a Digitone. I could probably do it using usb midi, but was thinking about when I do CPUless gigs. Any ideas. Im new to the Faderfox world.

Some little MIDI merger box, to merge the Faderfox MIDI with the MIDI out of the DN?

Thats what I was thinking, but Id also need a midi splitter, or whatever, to send the faderfox to devices that strangely dont have an out or thru. Wonder if these two, merge/splitter boxes could co-exist without stepping on each other’s shoes.

Check out the Blokas Midihub.

6 Likes

Retrokits also have some handy midi devices. Rk-004, or Rk-006

3 Likes

I just got one but didn’t have the time to configure it yet. Yes, that’s a good soluton. I have a quite similar situation as @jdaddyaz.

2 Likes

mioXM will do all that for you, easy routing and presets that can be used without a computer!:+1:

1 Like

go for two boxes from midisolutions: quadra thru + quadra merge.

Kenton over midisolutions any day of the week, midi solutions is powered over MIDI which can cause problems.

1 Like

sure if you don’t know how to deliver enough power over midi you’ll get problems and you should go with kenton + more cables. power over midi is a really handy feature otherwise.

Well it of course depends on the midi devices you use, and not so much on the knowledge on delivery enough power. You’r knowledge does not change that some devices will require more power or give out less than is needed. So some combinations might not work, while others might.

Kenton also has better build than the midi solution boxes, which also was one of the reason i returned the MS boxes and got Kenton.

i think that was the case with the older line of midisolution boxes. the newer ones are called “multivoltage” and will work with all gear with a proper MIDI implementation, whether they deliver 5V or 3.3V over MIDI . http://www.midisolutions.com/products.htm

1 Like