Machinedrum Monomachine MK1 Encoder Decoding

Hi! I’m trying to replace all encoders of my Machinedrum MK1. The Push-Encoders are easier to decode as expected and the the first replaced encoder works fine. but i’m struggling with the Data-Entry Encoder. it is more difficult to dismantle than the push buttons, because there is a plate underneath the plastic what makes it difficult to cut with a side cutter. but the real challenge is the solder on the two large pins on each encoder. the solder is almost completely removed, but the rest of it doesn’t melts so well. i used a solder pump but today btw and i’ve ordered some solder wick, maybe this will work better. but i still fear the soldering spots will be damaged or even the board itself. my main question is, are these two pins functional (important) or are they just there to stabilise/fixate the Encoder on the Mainboard (less important)? i’m not a expert when it comes to electronic parts and Soldering. but in my opinion these two pins are just there to hold the encoders on the boad.

thanks in advance for reply and sorry for my english :slight_smile:

From my limited knowledge (I built a PAIA Fatman last year), those thicker metal legs are just to hold the encoder in more securely. The Fatman had a few of those on the knobs, as well. However, I would still confirm with someone more knowledgeable unless you’re willing to trust the advice of a semi-amateur.

1 Like

that’s nice to hear. now i have just to take care that the soldering spots will be not damaged. i will provide more pictures of the repairing progress and keep you informed, because it could be also of interest for others. greetings.

Dont hesitate to reput à bit of solder, mighht facilite it, or better a bit of flux.
Quality of thé desoldering braid do a lot too. I had a lot of difficulté, then i pirchased a new braid with flux already in it, and it was way way way more easy…

1 Like