M:S - the quiet kid at the TE EP-133 party?

Howdie All,

A feel a bit like the M:S got invited by accident to the EP-133 party and all the other kids were busting dance moves trying to compete with it, while the M:S sat in the corner, quietly observing, and a bit confused.

I bought a TE EP-133 the other day, then got got a refund for a number of reasons - one of which was “hang on, doesn’t a M:S pretty much do this?”

I miss my Digitakt. I’ve been making tracks on the M8 tracker but the one thing it doesn’t do standalone is that hands-on tweak and twist.

I’m new to the M:S (bought one from a very nice Elektronaut on this very forum only a day ago). Looking forward to it.

I appreciate the M:S doesn’t slice like the EP-133. It doesn’t have the fun factor - at least aesthetically - but I’m wondering why the big rush for the EP-133 when you can get a M:S with immense sequencing capacity, and a different sample locked for each trig, for a fraction of the price?

I’m going to fix the pads too. I can almost guarantee they will not be finger friendly (I may be surprised). I’ll get the screwdiver and some tape out. Still, better than the slightly strange buttons on the EP-133, no? Only half the pad is velocity sensitive.

4 Likes

I stopped using my Model:Samples because I can’t sample directly into it. That looks like the main fun factor of the EP-133 to me, if there were no issues. Of course, the M:S is much more capable in many other ways like sequencing, looping samples etc…

8 Likes

12 vs 6 tracks, stereo samples, lots of (performance) effect, cool looks, it’s an actual sampler(!)…

Obviously M:S also does things that KO2 doesn’t.

6 Likes

From my perspective, and for my needs (just to head off any critique of my reply) … the EP-133 looks like a downgrade to me. Factors influencing that (correct me where I’ve got this wrong)

• Limited character numeric display to identify samples
  • Much less total storage (64Mb I think I read ?)
3 Likes