Losing creativity outside the Elektron box

Hey everyone,

I’ve been using the Rytm for a while now and it’s perfect for my workflow. I only program drums on it and because of the p-locks, slide, trig conditions (and other cool features of course) I can make pretty much anything I imagine sound design wise. It’s incredible. The Elektron sequencer is part of the sound design.

Now I want to pair it with a poly synth for melodies, chords, bass etc and was hesitating between another Elektron box or the Hydrasynth. Finally I bought the Hydra because of its capabilities and price. I watched a lot of “no talking” videos on it and it just sounds awesome. I really like the way I can mutate the waveforms and the workflow for designing sounds is also intuitive. However I really miss sequencing, p-locking, sliding, triggering stuff and the other Elektron features.

Beforehand I knew that there’s no sequencer on it but since I’m a beginner I thought about trying out a different workflow, a new thing, thinking that maybe I’m going to like it even more and that I’m going to be more creative.

A little more info about my workflow.
I like composing in a hardware and like mixing/mastering in Ableton. I don’t really like drawing midi notes and writing music using plugins in the daw. When I’m playing on the Rytm my creativity boosts because I can do so many things that I imagine in a matter of seconds. Now in the daw this is a completely different workflow and I prefer not to stare at the screen all the time and use the mouse to adjust the sound/sequence. On the other hand I love Ableton’s stock plugins for EQing and compressing tracks so I’m happy with mixing on the computer.

Back to the Hydra.
It’s a great machine and perfect for sound design, I’ve heard all kinds of sounds that people can make with it so I’m pretty confident about the fact that anything can be done on the Hydra in a different way.