Logic Pro X - M:S MIDI connection

Hi there! I’m fairly new to using external gear like the Model:Samples groovebox.
I am using Logic Pro X with a Motu 8Pre interface.
The M:S is really cool. Comes with USB which is great.
I’ve figured out how to record via Audio on the M:S pretty easily with USB and TS cables.
My main question is about setting up 6 separate tracks for MIDI input for the M:S.
In Logic Pro X you can assign an External Instrument track per 6 tracks corresponding to T1-T6 on the M:S. I have all that set up in the M:S for Midi-In and Midi-Out.
**I don’t want to change the Audio Input in My Preferences to the Elektron Model:Samples.
Do I have to do this via USB in order to record MIDI? ** If so, it seems strange. I have a MIDI keyboard via USB and that didn’t need set as the audio input in my settings.
Anyone using Logic Pro X that knows how to setup MIDI who can help would be swell!

Thanks!

-Daniel

Hi Daniel!
You should check these 3 things:

• active MOut on every track on M:S
  • midi settings on M:S - Out to USB (or M+U)
  • in Logic MIDI preferences - active M:S input

Hope it will help
David

Thanks David! And all I should need is a USB connection, correct? And I don’t need to alter my Audio Device Input from my interface to be the Model:Samples, correct?

Yes, exactly
You can use your current MOTU audio interface, connect MS via USB and just activate midi input from MS. Just tried it and it works well.

Sounds great thanks. One other question: I’m trying to set up multitrack midi recording. I am able to route everything fine to 6 different midi channels. I’ve practiced recording them one by one and they are definitely set to their respective T1-T6 MIDI tracks. But when I try to record all six at once they all record, but tracks 2-6 all just revert to what track 1 is playing. Do you know of a setting in Logic that allows to separate out for multi-track recording the 6 different tracks on the M:S?

Thanks David!