Learning Music Theory

I have been jamming with my OT and A4 for about 6 months now, looking forward to adding an AR as soon. I have never trained as a musician or played instruments before.

I used to dabble with Cubase back in the day, but never really did anything and lacked inspiration. I have tried several times since then with Ableton and Maschine and got more results but still did not feel 100% right.

Using hardware is a different story … I am loving it!!! Drums in the OT and some bass lines in the A4, just keeping it simple, tweaking things , copy patterns, and building them into an arrangement.

For the first time I am enjoying the sounds that I am making, almost enough to upload to Soundcloud. There is a lot to learn and I am hungry, feel like learning music theory would help me move on to the next step?

Does anyone have any recommendations?

I have seen some online courses, Dubspot, Berklee, etc, but $$$.

Cheers

I just discovered that yesterday, didn’t try it yet but it looks interesting or maybe not…

FWIW, though the knowledge is the same there are different approaches to learning it, some of which might get you closer to your musical goals faster than others.

What kind of music are you trying to make? Would you for example say it’s rooted in jazz sounds? Is it heavy on chord progressions and harmony, or less so? I realize you may not know what it is you don’t know :slight_smile: but tell us what you can.

If you can afford these instruments, I bet you can also afford some proper education. The paid options you mention above are probably a better value for you than anything free (assuming your time in not unlimited ;)).

1 Like