Jamuary 2024 Post Mortem

With January over and done with, and with Jamuary behind us, I thought it might be interesting for the people who took part to have somewhere separate from the original thread to reflect on what we’ve done.

Do you think you achieved what you wanted to? Did you have a masterplan, and did you stick with it? Are you planning on using anything you made for future projects? Any other thoughts?

For me, I’ve never done anything like this before, and I am early on in my electronic music making process. I also only got my Digitakt in the middle of December, and added a Quadrantid Swarm mid way through January. In a way Jamuary actually ended up getting in the way of me doing a lot of necessary setup admin and as a result I used my FM synth a lot less than I would have liked, purely because a lot of the time that I planned to devote to patch management was spent working with my more immediate gear instead. I also went through various small alterations to how my gear is connected for audio and midi routing, and as a result I’ve messed up my Digitakt project templates to the point where I ended up just manually doing setup every time I went to jam, which cut into my actual music making.

That said, I am very happy that I did what I did, and I think I’ve managed to do a lot of work towards developing my techno sound. By regularly recording and listening back to what I had done, and listening closely to a lot of live techno and adjacent music from the Stoor guys, Surgeon, Blawan, etc, I feel like towards the end of the month I started to be able to make decisions live which produced results closer to what I envisioned. Before I was generally playing around with elements until I stumbled on something I liked, but I now I am starting to feel like I know what I want in advance, if that makes sense.