iLoud, Genelec, sound, and reliability

Another speaker recommendation thread! But maybe with a twist.

I just sold my beloved Yamaha HS8s because they’re just too big and heavy. I replaced them with a pair of iLoud MTMs, which I have tried before, and which are the equal of the HS8s. I did extensive listening tests, and while they have different strengths, neither is overall better IMO.

But these MTMs have a high-pitched whine. It’s a known problem, and IK is arranging a return.

One thing I liked about the HS8s was their reliability. I wondered if I might stretch to a pair of Genelec 8030s instead?

They’re bigger than the MTMs, and double the weight (5kg vs 2.5kg each), but perhaps more reliable long-term?

The Genelecs are also quite a lot more expensive, and I’m not a pro.

Thoughts?

i have the 8030’s and also the 8020’s. Built like tanks and superb sound, and very little hiss. Ive only had them for around a year so cant comment too much on their longevity but ive only ever heard good things from other longer term genelec owners. one thing i will say tho is that the 8030’s are way too big for my space, and being rear ported means quite a lot of rear reflection issues, even after making adjustments to the dip switches. im not a pro by any means either, so its not a massive issue for me, but id say unless you have good acoustic treatment in your space i’d probably suggest the 8020’s, or perhaps opt for a front ported monitor like the neumann kh80, which i owned for several years and was very happy with but oolishly sold when moving house.

That’s good to know. I wonder how the bass of the 8020s is compared to my old HS7s. That’s one of the benefits of the iLouds. The bass is deep and still tight.

id describe the bass on the 8020’s as tight, and definitely not lacking. but then again i dont make especially bass-heavy music, and for any critical listening when judging that sort of thing i always switch to my headphones (audeze) for a more reliable source.