How to Relax and Enjoy Music Production

I’ve been producing for about 13 years, and it’s always been a struggle. When I was new, I would dive into the piano roll in FL studio, go nuts, and be thrilled with the result and unworried about improving. Quickly I became an anxious producer who would get stuck often. 90% of my tracks are unfinished.

I quit for a while and then impulse bought a digitakt to get back in. It was instantly fun again - unworried about the result, childlike enjoyment. And quickly again I became stuck as my gear and ambition grew.

I simply would like to be able to relax and enjoy myself. I think for many of you, this is a natural way to unwind and enjoy your free time. For me, it is not relaxing, but typically discouraging and draining. Whereas videogames and motorcycling are things I am naturally attracted to - things I don’t need a push to do - music production feels like work. I can’t seem to enjoy it for small chunks of time (an hour or two in the evening) and only seem to get anywhere if I spend a whole day bashing my head against the wall “warming up” and failing, then finally finding a needle in the haystack at the end of the day if I am lucky. When I’m at work, i frequently check elektronauts and electronic music blogs and can’t wait to get home to boot up my gear; when I am at home, I typically procrastinate and avoid it.

I have a few books on the topic that are sometimes helpful at getting me unstuck (Making Music by Dennis DeSantis etc), but I want to know how you all actually feel about making music, and what your approach is to “feeling good”. For anxious types like me, how can I go back to just enjoying myself, really partying and feeling the music the way I do at the best of times, but more often and more reliably?

I’m under no illusion that there isn’t a lot of sweat and work involved in finishing tracks, but I feel like my ratio of fun to work is way off.

Thanks!!

27 Likes

Great topic!