How To Get Back Into A Song

Title isn’t particularly good for this one but hey ho…

Managed to steal my usual 2 hours or so on a Saturday night to do music and once again, I’ve built the foundations for a tune but ran out of time to finish it. I realised as I was shutting down the laptop that I have dozens upon dozens of these half finished ideas that I never return to or, when I try, I can’t find the groove/enthusiasm to finish it.

Now, three quarters of these ideas are probably dog shit but every now and again I come up with a hook or a melody I really like and so I’ll make a quick 2 minute long structure to stick on MP3 and listen on my commute. I just never go back to it to actually finish it properly! I’m a hobbyist so I get a lot of joy out of these sessions I have but I would love to get a few tracks together as a finished piece.

I’m sure this is a fairly common thing but just wondered how you guys get through that brick wall. When you feel you’ve hit gold do you drop all else to power through and finish things? Or do you have a way or routine that you go thorugh to get back in to something? I have thought about proper note taking when on the train to work but not sure it will help with getting back into things!

9 Likes

I’m in the exact same boat you are.

I think I’m going to start now pushing through to an acceptable finish. I think also I have to be realistic about what acceptable finished means: no one’s paying me for a Grammy in production.

If a flash of inspiration occurs in the meantime I’ll take note of it thoroughly but leave the other details until after what I was doing.

Way way too many things I’ve lost track of or motivation for due to time used for other things Ive lost track of or motivation for. Nasty, unproductive loop.

I’ve recently finished up a project that had a deadline. Amazing what can be done under pressure.

3 Likes