How do you guys record the Octatrack?

Hi All,

TL;DR: Want to jam on couch, considering a flightcase to play with OT / DT on couch. Struggle with recording my OT jams into a DAW. Considering buying a flightcase and suck that con up or to invest in something else as a couchbuddy.

Currently on my second OT which I have been using on and off for about 5 months now.
I use Ableton and a Digitakt next to it and every time i sit down to make music I am endlessly exploring which feels either great or unproductive.

Now with the OT / DT i find myself way less fatigued from the screen (dayjob = screen). So I am looking to put them both in a flightcase to remove myself from my desk & screens. The only thing I worry about is that the jams I make on the OT have to be performed well into Ableton to record them. I did that quite a bit but itā€™s frustrating for me as I make mistakes or record too quickly to end up unhappy with the result.

Should I just accept that this is a OT thing? Maybe do multiple takes / multitrack and arrange in Ableton? How do you do it?
Or should I skip the pain and buy a Maschine + / MPC live 2 as a couch buddy since they allow exporting into Ableton with greater ease?

I used to record it into ableton, but I started to resample the main out into the OT itself. Much more convenient. No computer involved, I just stay focused on the machine.
The recording time usually is enough for my typical song lengths.

I either resample a performance or use the arranger to create a song.
I move the recording to the computer via usb disk mode later and might add some limiter etc in ableton.

7 Likes

As @Unifono, I record OT with OT. For longer recordings, I record several parts to edit later.

I (barely) used a Zoom H2 class compliant recorder, in order to record a video. These days Iā€™d rather use the Syntakt as audio class compliant gear, with Android or iPad.

3 Likes