How do the different Trig Types work?

hello,

I’m new to the OT and although I read the Manual and the “Some thoughts on Elektron’s OT” from Merlin I still don’t understand how the different trig types work or even how I can activate them. I understand how the sample trigs and one shot trigs for the recorders work, but

• what the hell are trigless locks and trigless trigs?

• I know it’s possible to set one shot trigs for samples but I can’t find out how…

• I’m still wondering if its possible to delete all changed parameters of a track. After changing parameters of a track and changing the sample i want to return to the standard parameters

this is a first loop I made with the OT

https://soundcloud.com/schahudi/wahnkalkul

THX

Trigless locks and trigless trigs are variations on the same concept - a trig just does a couple of things a lock doesn’t.

So every lit note on the sequencer is a trig, which can be a bit confusing at first. Regular trigs, as the name suggests, trigger samples. If you’ve made a loop, you already know this. Press a button and it tells the OT to play the sample at that point in the sequence.

But sometimes you want to enter some info to the sequence that doesn’t trigger the sample. Say you have a 1 bar drum loop and you’d like to add reverb to the drums on steps 5 and 13. So you want to add trigs to steps 5 and 13 to alter the reverb send, but a regular trig is going to start your sample playing again, and you don’t want that. This is a job for a trigless lock (or perhaps an LFO, but let’s stay focused).

So instead of pressing the trig buttons on their own, you hold Function and press them. Bam! They turn a dim green. Now hold the trigs down and set the reverb send - job done. That’s a parameter lock, or p-lock. You can also lock other parameters on the same step. When you play the sequence the sample just keeps playing as it passes these parameter locks, hence ‘trigless’.