Hitch hiking

The question is, what could I do with my hitchhiking skill?

I’m leaving again on Thursday. I’m leaving for a 5 day hitchhiking trip from Nijmegen in The Netherlands to Stockholm. 2 days there, 1 days there, concert Aphex Twin, 2 days back. I’ve done this kind of trip dozens of times. It feels relaxed and I actually always arrive.

Maybe it’s because of my own background (I have a master in organizational psychology) but for me there’s a lot of psychology in this. I make myself dependent on my surroundings, which makes me aware of my surroundings. I have little guidance on ways to achieve my planning, so I surrender to the situation. I connect with all kinds of people that I have learned to connect with over the years. When I hitchhike, everything around me is so different, which makes me think in a different way. I’m not a fan of standing somewhere for an hour or more, but it still gives room for reflection. And in the end it gives me faith in myself, faith in people and faith in fate.

The question is: can I do something with this? I have a wonderful job as a director in the music business and I would like to continue to do so for a very long time. But I think sometimes I could take people with me in my experience. And I can imagine that it is interesting for a lot of people to be completely taken out of their daily groove. Lifting gives room for creativity, for contemplation and for development.

Do you have an idea how I could shape this further? Are you interested, are you looking for a keynote speaker or do you have another question? I’d love to hear it :+1:

3 Likes

last time I picked up someone random he made demands to take him off my route and made me feel guilty for not complying with his request, never picked anyone since and probably won’t ever, unless I come from a music festival or something, then I can pick up people that I probably have at least something in common.