Help Me Pick a Bass Synth

Christmas is coming up and short story long I’ve got some money to gift myself some gear. I want to get a dedicated analog bass synth to go along with my DT, DN, A4, AH, and OT. It would be great if it could do Acid but that is not really necessary. Would like it to be able to do big mean beefy lines and also more finesse stuff. Playablity out of the box is a must. I just got my OT this past summer and my A4 last winter and I am still learning those so i really do not have time to learn a new UI. Price ranger in between 500 and 600 bucks. No Behringer. Things I’m looking at.

Erica Synths DB-01

Can def do the acid and big beefy bass lines. Love the hands on controls. Love the pattern randomization

However, it has limited connectivity, no CC controls, MIDI is just note and gate length (my understanding). While i do like the pattern randomization and different play modes, again, the thought of learning a new UI kinda makes my eyes glaze over.

Moog Minitaur

Lots of modulation and connectivity. Def easy to play right out of the box. No sequencer to learn.

Sounds absolutely gorgeous but do not know if it’s really the sound i’m going for. No ability to do acid from what i’ve heard.

Also thinking about a Dreadbox Hades kit. This would give me plenty of modulation with all the patch points it has but the sound is an unknown for me. Also they are kits and i’ve never done that before. Might be fun but also might be a pain in the ass.

If anybody has any of these or any other suggestions please chime in.

2 Likes

Minitaur will definitely do Acid:

people seem to either love them or hate them. i’ve never heard anything really do sub bass in the same way, but may or may not be important to you.
It’s actually pretty versatile, does perfectly good leads too unless you are a bat.

4 Likes

If I may, you might be able to have your cake and eat it too.

3 Likes

ahhhhhh fuck i forgot about that thing

1 Like