Finding it hard to love Rytm for studio use

Hi guys!

Ever since I got this great piece of gear: i’m finding it hard to fit it in my workflow.

I mainly use it in my studio, so not for live use. My style is more or less dark disco/electronica/synthwave
I’m a drummer originally, and am used to playing in my drums as midi parts (using a sampler in logic).

I find myself trying to complement drum samples with the analog machines in the Rytm, but then find it tedious to have to record the individual WAVs in my DAW, and not being able to make small edits later on (as the RYTM kan not export midi into the daw which I could then edit).

Perhaps I’m overseeing something, and perhaps you guys could give me some advice on why it’s still worth it in a workflow as I mentioned above. Or do you agree, that for my situation, I might aswell sell it?

1 Like

I found myself having similar issues, but in the end I found it more productive to modify my workflow to fit the AR, than the other way around. I am very happy with it now. Basically you have to start programming drums on the AR instead of in a DAW, and the rest will follow.

If you don’t want to modify how you do things, which is reasonable, then probably sell it.

2 Likes

My problem is I tweak sounds on it for hours and don’t get anything recorded :joy::joy::joy: but I’m getting better.

Also I just recorded a track last night where I wanted to do edit out a snarish sound from this tom loop I had going, I just edited it out and made a new clip (in ableton) then used that loop… so I dunno that’s one way to handle it

2 Likes

I seem to work in a similar way to you, except I’ll write everything with hardware, then record everything one-by-one into the DAW and edit the details there. I don’t start writing in the DAW, as it seems you do. but nonetheless, I am eventually recording and editing RYTM (and other drum machines) parts in the DAW.