Favorite way to approach sound design on the Digitone

I want to create this topic to share my patch design process, and learn from others.
There are only a few people, that i know of, who share their ways to make sounds, yet there are so many DN users.

Hi! Its been almost a year since i started learning DN ways and its been such a joy!
I knew quite a bit of FM theory before i got my feet wet in it, and i think understanding it is a lot different than using it. Only now im beginning to hear predictable and desirable results from tweaking parameters.

I noticed that i approach sound design in mainly three ways:

• Start with harmonics/filters
    Useful for bread and butter sounds. In this method ratios and algo comes last and acts as additional texture layer.

• Start with ratios/algo
    FM fundation allows for deeper and more evolving sounds. Harmonics and filters act as “modifiers” rather than texture.

• Start with envelopes/LFO
    For when i know which type of sound i want to go for. Its easier to adjust nuanced motions with barebones sound before adding life to it.

FX usually come later unless they are part of the sound (i try to avoid “part of sound” FX for ease of use in projects). ARP is generally song specific and gets added when needed.

Currently my favorite way is to start with ratios/algo. Its definitely more difficult to create something musical this way, but its also very fun to stumble into awesome sounds.

What are your ways to patch creation and starting points? Unique techniques? How are you using tools at your disposal? :hammer_and_wrench: :musical_note:

17 Likes

I’m not sure I’ve a set method, usually a need a simple loop first (it’s the same way I tweak my guitar pedal board, put looper at start of chain, set loop then tweak).