Elektron build quality

The Octatrack seriously excites me! I’ve been watching every YouTube video I can find for 2 weeks now. I know it can be a bit “arcane” but it seems so capable of so much - MIDI, CC, looping, sampling, conditional trigs, - and I have the motivation and time to learn. I think I will really enjoy the Octatrack.

But, $1300 is a lot of money for me. Doable, but a lot. How is Elektron on quality control (I’m an Elektron newb)? Will the OLED screen (MK2) fail in a couple years? Will my Octatrack break? If it breaks can I get it serviced? I see a fair amount of quality issues discussed on this forum in the last few days that cause me to hesitate.

How “solid” is Elektron gear?

i have had 5 different machines (AR, A4, 3 OTs) and haven’t had one single problem.

5 Likes

I have 8 Elektron boxes, I’ve never had a mechanical failure of any kind. Both my MnM and MD were bought year of mkl release and gigged a bunch, sometimes in less than ideal conditions. Very solid and road worthy. I’m honestly shocked I haven’t had to do a battery replacement

4 Likes

I’ve owned AK, AR, A4, MM x2, MD, and now OT MKII.

Too soon to tell on OT MKII (though it did arrive flawless), but of all the others I only had one issue with one of the Monomachines I purchased used. Internal PSU was faulty. Was still within the 3 year manufacturer’s warranty, and Elektron repaired it.
It was gone for about 10 days for the repair.

It is typically less common for users to start threads about their instruments working without issue than to start threads about hardware faults, which to a certain extent, are unavoidable.

5 Likes

After about 3 years of use, my OT MK1 started failing. Trigs 13-16 stopped working (lighting up) under certain conditions. Wasn’t really a bummer but it meant I couldn’t get a good 2nd hand price when I sold it

1 Like