Doing the most with the least

It’s great having huge setups, but I’m always throughly impressed when someone produces so much music with very little gear.

A lot of guys here have spoken about downsizing to a point of contentment - so let’s see and hear them?

I wanna see compact setups, I want to hear efficient tracks. We all know Elektron boxes are great for this kinda thing, but all gear is valid!

My smallest setup was an MPC Live and a Digitone but it has since grown!

13 Likes

I have TOO many machines. I want to downsize my studio and be more creative and focused. Interested in this topic :slight_smile:

5 Likes

I used to be the same when I was a photographer.

What really helped was taking a bunch of stuff, boxing it up and just keeping out a specific set of gear to focus on.

It helped me be faster, because I had less to choose from, more focused because I knew what I could and couldn’t do with the gear, and it helped me better learn each peice I had out.

As a result of this i went from 4 cameras and about 12 lenses to 2 cameras and 3 lenses and that didn’t change until i stopped being a full time photographer.

So yeah. Try that. Pick a few boxes and pack the rest away for a month, then swap some boxes around.

If you don’t miss it, you don’t need it.

9 Likes

I have downsized!

From: digitone, analog rytm, rev2, squid, T1, minitaur, Typhon, subharmonicon, analog heat, an iPad and some some external effects.

To: analog rytm, rev2, squid, t1 and an iPad (as an effects unit) and a bluebox.

For me it so much simpler to understand things, how to focus on sound design on just 2 sound sources and work within those limits - getting the most out of the machines. As @RustyRoses has said, I simply don’t miss any of the stuff I’ve taken away really (apart from the digitone I guess) so I don’t need them.

One of the best things is not having to develop naming conventions for settings when saving a project across loads of machines (I still have to a little bit).