Digitone Keys or Digitone + New Arturia keystep?

Hello,

I am new to this forum. I always loved FM synthesis and I might get tempted by a Digitone in a quite foreseeable future.

A quick question though: would it be better to go with the Keys edition or the new Arturia keystep ?

As I am a guitarist and not a keyboard player, I generally use my left arm to play melodies on a keyboard.

I was thinking about that option because both keyboards have aftertouch and the Arturia seems to have a quite nice arpeggiator.

Best wishes,

2 Likes

Digitone Keys. No explanation offered, but I do own a Digitone and an og Keystep

Main plus of DN is size so it’s not a simple one, but the DK is the no regrets path

ps the forum says Hello

3 Likes

Keys has quite a few additional features – all performance controls to the far left and the knobs above the keyboard. More features can be accessed with direct key pressses. Entering poly notes into the sequencer is naturally easier, that may not matter if the you have an external keyboard. Small thing is the keyboard has a nice tilt toward you making it easier to see the screen. I have owned both and now only the Keys, I think it is a better instrument unless you need something mobile.

I just realized the DN Keys is only $250 more than the DN, that’s crazy!

I would probably go digitone, but primarily because it’s size is one of my favorite things about it. I find myself connecting a keyboard to write patterns and then disconnecting it to perform them. The separate track outs aren’t that important to me, so most of the benefits of the keys are lost on me.

I would say that if you plan on using it in a static studio type getting the keys would be best. The multitrack stuff is probably very useful in a more conventional studio. (I don’t really multitrack my songs as I just make music for fun, I just mix everything down to stereo.)

2 Likes