Digitone, BSP and Volcas - Midi Set Up?

Hi there,

New to Elektronauts and the Digitone. I bought it as the lockdown was looming and thought it would be a good time to learn it and add to my little set up. I have had the Volca Beats, Sample, Keys and Bass for a while now and been using the BeatStep Pro as the sequencer. I’ve also got a little Akai MPK Mini keyboard that I use now and again. All these feed into a Scarlett 18i8 and record as seperate channels in logic so I can go back and edit it to a final track.

I’ve very little experience with midi. Until now I just had the BSP to a midi thru to 3 of the volcas and a sync out from one volca to the last volca not controlled by the BSP.

Now that I have the Digitone I’m keen to use that as the sequencer for 3 of the volcas on the midi tracks. However I would still like the BSP to control the volca sample because of its strange midi implementation (midi channel for each of the 10 samples voices). However I’m lost as to how to keep the BSP and Digitone in time together.

It would be great if anyone had a solution or pointed me in the right direction. If you need more info just let me know.

many thanks

hi, welcome to the forum. :slight_smile:

if you have a free midi port on your midi thru device, you should be able to just send clock to the bsp from the digitone.

or:
you could also send midi from the bsp to the digitone midi in.

from digitone midi thru (which copies/mirrors midi in) you could send midi to the volca sample. (like connected directly)

from the digitone midi out to the thru box to the other volcas. (sequence them with digitone)

general info: with midi sync only one device has to be the master… the others are slaves (in this case the bsp)

there are many possibilities and it should work great. there are already many topics about it, so use the forum search… look for keystep, digitone or takt and also take a look at the mighty elektron auto channel…