Digitone as MIDI controller for Mood Mk2 (total newb)

Hi –

As titled above, I am an utter MIDI-novice. Electronic musician for over 25 years (modular, analog synths, tabletop devices and pedals) but never MIDI.

I have plugged my Digitone MIDI out into the MIDI in on the Mood Mk2, have set the channel in SYN1 to Channel 2 (Mood Mk2 default channel) and I’m affecting what I think is the Clock on the Mood by playing the Digitone keyboard (changing pitch of the recorded microloop).

But I can’t figure out how to do anything else because it’s an absolute foreign language to me. The Mood Mk2 Midi Manual lists all of the CCs and stuff but I have no clue how to go about implementing them. I don’t have a frickin clue what to do next!

Can I send multiple changes to the Mood simultaneously? Like, I’d like to be able to say, sequence the clock with one MIDI track, play live changes to another parameter on another track for instance, LFO some other stuff. And be able to change what these are doing to the Mood on the fly. Plus figure out the Mood Synth Mode!

Do any MIDI experts feel like taking my hand and painfully slowly explaining everything I need to do here cheers thanks :laughing::crossed_fingers::scream_cat:

OK I think I’m getting it a bit, though still very confusing… such as “CC 18 LSB” is not CC 18, it’s CC 50.

OMG now that I’ve figured that out it’s starting to make sense!

1 Like

I don’t know how much I can help on this but when you say sequence the clock with one track, do you just want to send clock to the mood? You don’t need a midi track for that, what you’ll want to do is in the settings menu under the midi settings you’ll want to enable the clock send and I don’t know if mood requires a transport start/stop signal but if it does you will want to enable that (transport) as well.