Digitakt with Arturia Keystep

Hi :wave:t2: Elektronauts!

New here and this is my first post.
Forgive me I’m a total newbie to electronic/digital hardware at the moment however I’m a fast learner.

I’m trying to setup my Arturia Keystep with my DT.
I’ve managed to get only so far before scratching my head in confusion.

Got the USB power sorted. :+1:t2:
Connection to the DT is via a dual standard mini cable - black and red - 2 x both ends (4 connections in total). I’ve plugged in only the black to the Arturia midi OUT - into the DT midi IN.

Have checked MIDI Configuration on DT.

PORT CONFIG >
SYNC > Clock Received checked. Others not.
PORT CONFIG > Input from MIDI+USB
RECEIVE NOTES and RECEIVE CC/NRPN Checked.

CHANNELS
TRACKS 1-8 named 1-8
TRACKS A-H Off
AUTO CHANNEL 10

Now all seems good to here, hearing the TRACK sounds via the Arturia Keystep in Chromatic.

However when playing pattern I cannot hear via the Arturia any keyed TRACK sounds.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Wanting to help here but have a hard time understanding what you’re trying to do.

2 Likes

Are you in Sequencer mode on the Keystep? You might need to turn on Kbd Play when the sequencer is running (I think it’s Shift + Octave Up).

1 Like

Trying to use the Keystep as a synth as well as trigger sequences. I know the DT isn’t a dedicated synth but i do know it is able to produce synth like sounds using a midi keyboard.

I was trying to follow this short tutorial but found it unashamedly difficult to follow with no detailed instructions. See link

Arturia Keystep and Digitakt

You need to assign a waveform to one of the 8 sample tracks. Set it to loop the waveform. Now, when that track is selected you will hear it when you play on the keystep. Hope that helps.

1 Like

These is the midi cable I’m using

Dual Midi 5Pin Cable

As said I’ve only plugged black into IN and OUT

Ok will give that a go in the morning.