Digitakt, Synth, Keyboard, Midi - Noob Questions

Hey all,

I’m a total noob with making electronic music, so please be patient with me. Also, this post has evolved into a big rambling brain dump, so apologies in advance if it’s too long or jumbled to get through. All good if you don’t bother… just typing it out has helped me understand it all better, and any responses I do get I’m sure will be super valuable. :slight_smile:

I bought a Korg Monologue about a month ago, to start my tinkering with electronic music hobby. I quickly realised that the sequencer on that was not going to make it easy for me to make full arrangements, so I bought a Digitakt, which I’m loving. Getting to know how to use it as a standalone device has been heaps of fun.

I’m now at a point where I’m starting to look beyond the Digitakt a bit. Like how can I use my Monologue with the Digitakt. Or should I buy a Keystep or Keystep pro to expand my setup, and provide a better keyboard base to extend those skills?

Please note I’m working DAWless at the moment - just want to play with the hardware before I introduce a whole new level of DAW complexity to my workflow. I’m open to being told that this is actually make it more complicated than it would be to just introduce it, but for now I’m digging not having to use a computer outside of work hours.

Today I pulled out my only midi cable and had a play, and soon realised the following (please correct me if i’m wrong about anything):

1. By routing from the Digitakt (out) to the Monologue (in), i could control when the Monologue plays it’s sequence (start/stop), the tempo, and (haven’t done this yet but assume I can) assign CC values to the parameter controllers in the Digitakt to control the corresponding values on the Monologue.