Default "pitch" is C, right?

I’m prob. wasting bits here, butnI just want to be sure. And because I’m a tone deaf drummer, I can’t tell by ear. :slight_smile:

If trig note=0 and sample or synth tune = 0, the pitch of the tone barring any other mods should be a “C” correct?

Only asking because sometimes with the above settings two voices sound a bit out of tune… AR doesn’t have osc drift does it?

yes

2 Likes

C3 it is

1 Like

Yea, but C3 can be different… that’s why I was keeping it simple and just say’n “c” instead of having to identify metric or imperial or new math or whatever “C”

I suspect it is centred around a lower c irrespective of the chosen notation - in terms of the midi note the 4 octave range is centred on

edit: worth noting that tuning does not always follow semitones, some machines require two clicks to get a semitone shift

is this documented somewhere?

2 Likes

avantronica is right it depends about the Synth Model/machine and as “it’s analog” : Device too can vary slightly. This Tuning table can help… and you will see it’s not a middle C everywhere at 0. I started on the highest range because that’s the one who are easiest to analyzed then i lowered the values and analyzed to make sure the range and increments are fine.

Use the Recalibration process only when Elektron recommend to do it after Firmware upgrade or if technical support ask you to recalibrate. Otherwise patience and warm the Device and see if this Tune table help you. it should help a bit if our device (mine and yours) are closed to each other.

Also don’t be too scientist with tuning, use your hears too… if it’s sound good and you are in the good range in key (fundamental) sometimes to take harmonics and/or music harmony can make something great as well.

3 Likes

No!
A lot of strange answers here :slight_smile:

The pitch of the sample depends completely on the sample!

If your sample is of a C note then yes, with all the settings at 0 it will play back a C.