Crackling when using heat as a audio interface

I use heat as an audio interface, recording into ableton, and sometimes I get crackling/interference/noise over a section of the recording. Only when I use heat as an audio interface, not when I use overbridge.

I don’t see the sound meter clipping on the heat, there is a good -5db headroom on ableton’s display. I set up the buffer on ableton as per the instructions, and I don’t see CPU spikes.

Anyone else get this, or have ideas to help me trouble shoot?

Cheers
Russell

EDIT: I ran exactly the same sequences through it again and there was no crackling…I didn’t hear crackling in the headphones I have plugged into the heat to monitor.

1 Like

Just a wild guess, windows 10 ?

@Microtribe

I was going to say yeah this is inevitable because that’s what I thought, but now I’m curious. Is Windows 10 the issue? That’s my OS 🥲

Well, I have zero experience using AH as an audio interface.

But… I used to work ITB, until I upgraded my computer for a kickass mega machine, SSD fuck tons of RAM, super processors etc. It came with windows 10. And then my problems started. Intermittent crackling, seeminly random. I tried everything. New interface, cables, power, updates, contacted ableton, interface tech support. Even got my computer checked out by a computer tech.

None of them could solve my problem. Until the computer tech guy said… ‘so you never had this with windows 7?’ And boom. That was that.

We never could figure out why it happens. But basically, the endless struggle with software and bullshit anomalies pushed me away from software and into the reliable arms of hardware.
Glitch free ever since. Fuck you windows.

2 Likes

MacOs Big Sur, on a shiny new MacBook Air with an M1 chip.

I guess I keep going as is and try and discern if it is random or driven by events…also, since I don’t care about latency (I don’t monitor ableton while recording) I can up that buffer and see if it goes away.