Considering Analog Four as First Hardware Synth

Hi All, I am just getting into music production (currently working with Live and mbp 15 right now). I am very interested in synths, and have also been working through a kadenze course on Reaktor 6. What I am finding is that, while all of this is really interesting and motivating me towards creating the sounds I want to hear, working solely in the computer is not as inspiring as working with a physical instrument seems to be.

So, I am wondering if the analog four (mki or mkii) would be a good first synth, particularly considering integration with live, the fact that I have Reaktor 6? How steep is the learning curve? Would this compliment live/reaktor or would it be redundant?

Basically, talk me out of or justify this purchase for me!

Either the A4 or MKII are great to pair with Live using Overbridge. The MKII enhancements and better UI are really nice. The A4 is a really well rounded workhorse with a compact/versatile UI.
That said, the A4ā€™s sound is nice, but itā€™s really not too far off from what you can do sonically with software, and itā€™s not a knob per function kind of device.
For a first synth, I would consider something a bit more basic that makes sounds you canā€™t achieve in software and has more of a knob per function layout.
Maybe a Moog Sub 37, Prophet 6, DSI Oberheim, Korg Monologue, Korg MonoPoly, PolySix, or something in that realm.

3 Likes