Connect a random sequencer to Digitone

Hi,
I’m new in the world of Elektron Synth;i was wondering how to make dark/cinematic ambient Music using an external sequencer (setted to random) connected to Digitone (like the way you can make generative ambient with the moog mother 32 and valhalla supermassive).
Can i connect a random sequencer like korg SQ-1 to the digitone?
Thank you for your time

You can achieve similar effects with the Digitone sequencer. Yes, you can use an external sequencer but none are going to give you the options that the Elektron sequencer will.

1 Like

Hi,
Thank you for your answer;
How can i make something like sligtly changes to my sequence to make it sound like is randomized?

There is quite a lot you can do with the Digitone sequencer and randomness, especially if you also use random LFOs. What is harder to do is to have random events happen that are not connected to particular points on the Digitone’s sequencer grid. But with careful programming this is not really noticeable. Can you provide examples of things you would like to do? I suspect many of them can be done with Digitone alone.

2 Likes

Via the magic of “MIDI via USB” you can even use all the funky sequencers made for MAX for each different DN tracks, that open a lots of doors.
The better aspect is that technically you can then use the MIDI tracks of the DN to sequence modifications on the MAX sequencers that control the DN tracks.

6 Likes

I would like to make a random arpeggio with the Digitone or something that can evolvé/modify during the track.