Computer help -- working with VST's and CPU

I’ve been digging more into VST’s and Max4Live lately and I’m running into issues with CPU limitations. For example, just playing with a Madrano Labs VST puts Ableton at 60% CPU usage and starts to glitch out.

I’m using a MacBook Pro mid-2014, 3GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3, with 500GB SSD.

This should be powerful enough, right? I don’t believe adding more RAM will solve the solution, right?

Ugh. Any help or guidance is appreciated. I’m a fairly tech-savvy person, but not much of a computer hardware person. Thanks much.

I’m not familiar with that particular vst but spec wise your laptop should be plenty powerful enough for music. Have you checked if the cpu is hit so hard when you’re plugged in to PSU for power? Dunno about macbooks but couple of windows laptops I’ve bought I had to mess with the power saving config. Performance was night and day when on battery vs PSU.

I definitely don’t think its computer specs. Could come down to the individual VST itself causing issues. I have a 2011 Macbook Pro that still handles just about anything I throw at it music wise.

Performance is generally governed by the sample rate you are running at e.g, 44.1, 48, 96khz and also the buffer you are running within your DAW e.g. 64, 128, 256 samples.
What are your settings for these 2 parameters?
To gain performance lower the sample rate (can go as low as 44.1khz) and raise the buffer up (256 is a good start).
Doing these both will introduce a little latency but hardly noticeable.
Play with the buffer size to find a nice balance between CPU use and latency.

also 60% isn’t the worst thing. I have some projects that are fucking heavily with m4l, reaktor, neturon, ozone and soundtoys (think instances of ALL of them across multiple tracks) and things usually hover around 50%.