Cabling issue/question

Hi, i have an analog rytm, analog four, teenage engineering op-1, a boss rc505 loopstation and a soundcraft signature 12-channel mixer.

Van anyone recommend me a good way for cabling these to a good setup?

I am very new to this.

Thanks beforehand and best regards,
Olivier

Firstly have a good read of the manual if you’ve got one just so you can get your head around the routing options the mixer gives you. Read up on subgroups and aux busses. It’ll stand you in good stead👍

For a start you could simply route the outputs of your gear to the inputs of the mixer channels. Stereo sources across two channels with the left hand output channel panned hard left and the same for the right hand channel. Have a look in the mixer manual for how to set your PFL level. It’s dead easy, you’ll want to do that for the best signal to noise ratio.

As far as the loop station goes that will depend on your workflow. Are you looking to send everything through it or just select bits? Or are you routing other stuff like guitars through it? That stuff will dictate where you want it in the signal path and what you want to do with its outputs.

You could use the aux send to route audio to the RC, that way you can control how much of each input channel source you send to the aux outputs. Just be aware of feedback loops.

Welcome to the forum BTW!:joy:

3 Likes

Hi,

Thanks for your reply and the info.

For now I have all routed to the loopstation, which on its turn I have connected to the mixer (left and right channel).

Connected the midi out (sync A) of the AR to the midi in of the A4. Then main out of the AR to input of the loopstation. The main out of the A4 to the Ext in of the AR. The op-1 out (aux) is directly linked to the loopstation (aux).

Just not sure whether this was the right way to do so… My intention was to link it all to the loopstation, but not even sure whether this makes sense. Especially for the AR and A4.