Best Digitakt > DAW workflows?

Just wondering what people’s thoughts are regarding the various ways that they take their DT projects into their DAWs for completion/arrangement/mixing etc.

I’m new to incorporating hardware into my workflow - are there any good tutorials that you can recommend that demonstrate the possibilities?

1 Like

Overbridge is actually supported for Ableton Live and Bitwig Studio.
I didn’t try with live, but in bitwig studio you can record all the 8 track + FX track in same time.
I don’t use DAW, but I think you can compose on you DT and when you have some cool pattern, track out in bitwig or live for arrangement and structure.
PS: you should not use FX from DT, it will be difficult to use it in separate track when you record in the DAW

Yeah, that’s basically what I do, I compose in jamming sessions mostly away from the computer, then track it into Logic with OB for arrangement, adding FX, automation, processing, etc

I still use the FX when jamming, and always track them out with OB anyway (use voice routings to only send FX to the master). Then I sometimes keep them, sometimes not. Depends on what I do ITB later.

1 Like

Dave Mech has a good short series of tutorials in getting set up with Overbridge.

1 Like

Thank you for the great responses. I use Ableton, so that’s great news!

I might have missed it, but it’s there a way of drag and dropping MIDI (or some form of export) into the DAW from the Digitakt?

(There might be some scenarios where I write the basic sequence using my one synth, but decide that I could want a certain soft synth sound for that sequence - can I drag the MIDI notes in?)

no but you can record the midi into ableton

1 Like

YESSSSSSS!

Can’t wait to try this.

To piggy back off this good question
Once I polish and arrange my track on the daw can I throw it back into my digitakt for live performances? Or would I have to just sample it back in the digitakt.

1 Like

@blaize