AR and A4 losing sync!? Can anyone explain this?

I have my AR mk2 as the master sending PC info on channel 16 to my A4 mk2.

I’ve made sure the Len and Chng settings match on both machines, and have the AR set send Clock, Transport and Prog Ch.

They’ll stay in sync with each other for an undetermined amount of time, but then the A4 will start to change a bar late.
At this point I have to stop both and hit play again but that doesn’t always work.
Switching them both off and powering back up puts them in sync again… until the same thing happens again.
Obvs this is majorly frustrating… and I can’t figure out if there’s something obvious I’m overlooking. :man_shrugging:t2:

Any help/advice would be much appreciated!

You didn’t state explicitly whether the AF is set to receive clock and transport messages.

1 Like

I’ve had weirdness with both AR->A4 and A4->AR, not clock sync, but slow patten changes. I’ve found A4->AR much more reliable. Looking at midi messages they’re all sent, so I assume it is a bug on either/both boxes in terms of execution/timing.

(I wrote about it here Are Progran Change msgs sent when chaining patterns? - #13 by igtheflig)

1 Like

Yes, the A4 is set to receive clock, transport and pc from the AR.

I read what you wrote, sounds similar to what I’m experiencing.

The only other thing I noticed was that one of the patterns that was regularly throwing out the sync has a Track part set to 1/2 timing… I’m still experimenting.

are they both showing same tempo speed when connnected

Yes, same tempo is showing on them both, with the slave device showing the lock symbol next to the tempo.

You mentioned ‘PC info’ in the original message, what does that mean? do you have other devices connected?

I just meant Program Change Send/Receive is set up correctly in both devices’ Sync page.

1 Like

whats the OS?