Analog Rytm as master Octatrack as slave: constantly unsyncing, what to do?

Hi!

So, I have my AR as master and OT as slave and everything works fine except for that they won’t sync as accurate as I want them to. They goes out of sync after a while, and its like they’re one step apart.

I would like to rely on that they will be synced during a 1h live set.

Does anyone know how to prevent this? My best solution so far has been hitting stop+play on the AR whenever I hear they’re out of sync, but don’t wanna do that when they are the only two instruments playing.

Did you activate only transport send and receive on the units or do you have clock send and receive set up as well?
Is there any midi device in between them?
Are you using any odd step length patterns?
Try another cable?
:thinking:

1 Like

Thank you for your answer :slight_smile:

I have clock + transport, can try with transport only! Is that better?

No midi device in between, but one from thru of OT.

Every pattern has 16/32/48/64 steps.

Swopped cable before, with same result.

No, clock and transport is the correct way…
Have you tried with OT as master to see if that works?
I don’t got anything else for you right now, we’ll see what the other nauts have to say…

That’s not normal, mine run in sync indefinitely, left them on for days at a time playing and there was no drift. Try using the OT as master and see what happens. Just to clarify, you have the RYTM sending clock and transport and the OT set to receive clock and transport?

2 Likes

hm I don’t think so. Even on such a tiny chain. Since @Open_Mike clarified the correct setting I would try some expensive MIDI cables.

Got clock and transport on both of them @knobgoblin

Will try OT as master.

And yeah, even though I’ve heard midi cables shouldn’t give any problems like this I’m willing to try a pricier midi cable. Any suggestions on what to buy? @TheDiePie