Analog Heat 50% Dry Wet sounds like low pass

Sorry, noob here just got my AH Mk2. I’m using purely USB, no analog connections, Overbridge, AH as VST in Ableton and everything seems to work great except for this issue.

Even with filter completely off, 50% Dry/Wet on the dial sounds like a low pass filter, the highs are gone and it sounds like it’s phasing a tiny bit. 100% and 0% Dry/Wet sounds fine and seems to be working as it should. Starts sounding weird at 45% - 55%.

Does this on all presets and init blank preset. I’ve tried adjusting latency settings etc. Anyone else come across this issue?

Hi @MikeAirstrike welcome to the forum!

I’m curious what others will say for explanation, but my Heat also loses a lot of volume (never paid specific attention if it’s lowpass) when in the middle. I would even say in a wider area than 45-55. I’ve always assumed it to be normal, maybe some kind of phasing as a result of the two signals mixing. I use it with audio cables instead of USB.

Curious to hear from others if this is indeed normal and if so what the explanation is for it.

1 Like

Did you try to record it?

It sounds like a monitoring issue more than a AH issue.

Remember you can also change the wet level to help volume match/check differences. The circuits are definitely not flat which is a reason the EQ curves are different for each (to help strategically make up for that).

4 Likes

My first thought would be phasing issues due to some other routing adding latency.
Which in this case would more likely sound like high pass the low pass… so I don’t know.
I don’t own the Heat by the way.
Damn that was helpful ! :grinning:

3 Likes

Uhhm, assuming the two signals aren‘t inverted, a low pass type phasing would be expected.
Kind of like a veeeeerry tight comb filter, where the first notch is in the uppermost treble region.