Analog Four - pool and +drive disconnect

Hi there

I’m new to A4. I had a year of Octatrack experience a few years ago, so when I saw the A4 for cheap I picked it up, thinking it’s gonna be a breeze considering the hell I went through with Octa.

It’s easier than OT by a mile but it’s got those quirks that doesn’t make sense to me and that sorta wasted a lot of my time.

There is the + drive and there is the sound pool.

Now, let’s say I load in sound S1 to the sound pool.
Then I load track1 with S1 from sound pool.
Then I load track2 with S2 from sound pool.

Nice and easy.

Then I fool around with the sound of S1 in track1 and fix it up a bit. I like it so much that I think this is the sound S1 should have for all time. I save it to the +drive ( same slot as before, I’ve replaced it )

But wait! Why does track2 sound like the old S1? I realized that now track1 point to new S1 in +drive and track2 points to S1 in sound pool.

In other words S1 in sound pool is disconnected to S1 in +drive. What?? This level of complexity is baffling and already adds to the complexity that kits can contain a sound (either from sound pool and +drive) that has changed.

This means that a sound can have 3 distinct sounds itself. +drive, sound pool , kit setting.

I just discovered this a few min ago and I am completely floored by this kind of design. This sounds like a design by a computer programmer and programmers should never ever design musical instruments ( I should know, I’m a programmer myself). Anyway just putting this out there as I can’t understand the value of this structure. Back to my analog four now and hopefully back to making music which is what I was doing before I bought this thing :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes::grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes::grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

There are a thousand discussions on the Kit architecture,

what you are describing is actually a good thing when understood and used properly