Analog 4 as 'brain' for beginner(ish)

Im new to analogue HW but have a long musical background and recently picked up the BS2. Thinking it would be best to learn with mono

But now, i am quickly wanting to sequence and make some non traditional beats, with stutters, tripplets, etc. After reviewing a ton of groove boxes, I am hooked on the Analog 4 MK1; sound design looks epic. But its only a 4 voice, and is probably best for bass/leads and then drums. I might have not thought that totally through, because the A4 can probably do most of what the BS2 can. Please help put my mind on ease that I didnt waste money on the BS2 if I go and get a A4 tomorrow ahah.

Am I not thinking right the A4 as my ā€˜brainā€™/main box would be freaking awesome? The workflow looks amazing and the sequencer seems to be advanced enough for my liking, unlike the Circuit for example (no screen, very few buttons, requires PC to edit sounds). Should I consider the electribe 2 perhaps?

I appreciate any advice/help. Either way, the used market is great for synths so I can sell the BS2ā€¦

Only thing to be aware with a4ā€¦It can send clock but not midi notes to midi outā€¦Forget it to sequence other synth except for for one cv compatible one ( It can send 4 different cv out with splitters)ā€¦Not that great for a ā€œBrainā€ !

1 Like

I have a BS2 and love it especially since the OS upgrade. Personally I would look elsewhere for a sequencer/synth partner. Perhaps a digitone? Monomachine? Or even octatrack? To my ears the A4 occupies very similar sonic territory as the BS2.
Electribes (EMX1 was a personal favourite) are absolutley amazing if you put the time in and get on with the workflow.

True. But it appears unmatched in the sequencing space, all of the custom effects and PLocks and so on. Its difficult to look else ware.

Could the octatrack sequence just as good as the A4 (OT is a sampler first, i understand)? And it can control via Midi correct?