Allen&Heath QU-16 + Overbridge tips?

Hello,

I’m about to (when my studio room is finished) start setting up my elektron gear with a A&H QU-16 mixer to Ableton / Overbridge. I’m new to using hardware and Live together. Is anyone else using the QU-16 and is there anything specific to watch out for?

Also pro’s / con’s ?

cheers!

I’m using it with the Qu-PAC, which basically amounts to the same thing. I haven’t come up against any particular issues. I just set up a specific scene for monitoring through Ableton. I record all the channels separately over USB without any issues. Did you have any specific questions in mind?

I suppose you just want to watch out for obvious things like not monitoring via the Qu and Ableton at the same time. That’s why I set up a specific scene on the Qu with all the channels muted so that I’m only monitoring via Ableton.

Which Elektrons are you hooking up?

No specific questions at this point. I just wanted to check if anyone had ran into something weird or unusual. I might have some questions once i’ve hooked up my studio gear :slight_smile: I’m going to use my Rytm, Keys and machinedrum. And probably a Heat after i have figured out my new workflow with Live :slight_smile:

Are you planning to use Overbridge?

Yea I am, so i suppose i still have to connect everything with an Overhub aswel, right?

Depends on your computer. I use an Imac and don’t use overhub, but it depends how many separate USB ports you have.

Do you have any other gear? You’ll be left with a lot of inputs on your Qu if you use Overbridge.

Not at the moment no. But left/right of each machine is each 1 input right? And then pair them in Ableton or something. (something i read somewhere).

I also want to use external effect pedals and stuff in the future.

I’m new at this hehe :stuck_out_tongue:

Using Overbridge, you won’t need any audio cables for the Analog Keys (all audio can be streamed over USB) so no inputs used on the Qu.