Advice about multi-bus mixers?

Hello! I’m new here. And I’m pretty new to Elektron, too.

I need some advice. I would like a multi-bus mixer.

I’m using a Behringer Xenyx 802 right now, and it’s cute and small and good. I also have a Motu Ultralite, which has plenty of ins and outs.

In the past, I was connecting all of my sound-producing devices to my Motu, and using its many internal busses to route audio; some inputs I wanted to feed into my DAW, and some inputs I wanted to send directly to my mixer. It’s very flexible and nice, if you’re using a laptop.

I’ve decided that I want to try producing music without using a laptop. That means using the Motu is less convenient; while you can use it as a standalone mixer, it has only a few small knobs, so the physical interface isn’t very accessible.

Can anyone give me some seed ideas of what I should look at for multi-bus mixers? Basically, I want a bunch of inputs and outputs, and the freedom to choose where my signals go. The Xenyx has two busses, but one of them is for “effects” and it’s just a mono send. It has a “2-track” output as well as main outs and headphones, but they’re all tied together; I can attenuate them only relative to the master volume output.

I’m (clearly) very inexperienced when it comes to hardware audio routing and mixers; am I asking for something unreasonable? Would I have to spend thousands to get what I want?

Cheers!

I’m guessing that Behringer has mixers with both buses and groups in stereo further up their product line. I’ve had some Behringers and think they work fine. However…

A while back I sold my Motu(s) and bought into a digital mixer from Allen & Heath - the QU 24. I wanted a physical mixer (with plenty of inputs) AND the possibility to record into my DAW when I need to do so. So a digital mixer like this is truly great; physical faders, digital routing a couple of groups and buses. Very pleased with this switch.