Ableton Live or Logic Pro or Bitwig in 2023?

I have the DT/ST/DN and want to try using them with Overbridge. Which DAW would you recommend?

I already have Ableton Live 10 Standard, and can upgrade to Live 11 for £110, but as a student I noticed I could buy the Apple Pro Suite (including Logic) for £179 - or even a Bitwig Studio Educational license for the same price - so I thought now was a good time to re-evaluate my options.

I tried Overbridge with Live 10 last night and it all seemed to work really well, so if I’m honest I could just stick with that, but maybe there is a good reason I should upgrade or make the switch to another DAW?

What’s your thoughts?

It really depends on what your main focus ITB is.

The differences between these DAWs have in some ways gotten smaller by now, meaning that Logic for example has become more performance and composing friendly when compared to the situation few years ago.

I would find out what is missing from the DAW I’m using, if anything and the evaluate if it would be worth the hassle to buy and learn a new DAW.

5 Likes

I have both Abelton and Logic and both are good, i think honestly it just comes down to what your most comfortable with. Overbridge is a snap with either and IMO if you already know Abelton I would say you should just upgrade that instead of facing the learning curve of another DAW!

3 Likes

I would agree with this…

That being said, I use LOGIC!! And I love it…

Now, I was watching the Doja Cat episode of Kenny Beats, and he talked about the differences, and he said Logic sounds better in some cases and Ableton is just faster… plus, its a bit easier to modulate any parameter in Ableton, where you can do it in logic, but it takes a couple extra steps.

3 Likes