Ableton Live MIDI Controllers

Hey all, I currently upgraded to Suite and was hoping to get some opinions to help me make up my mind.

I’m interested in a handful of MIDI controllers to use as a hardware-esque approach to Ableton. Its easier for me to fall in to the music if I have knobs and things to wiggle!

So far my top contenders are:

• Livid Instrument’s Base II
• DJ Tech Tools MIDI Fighter 3D & MIDI Fighter Twister
• NI Maschine MK2
• Akai APC40 MK2

I’m mainly looking for something to fingerdrum on or trigger clips with/have faders or knobs to attenuate the levels of the mix which is why I included the APC. I’m under a 400 (USD) budget so nothing intense is really on my plate, and I cant go too wild with the purchases haha. The Base II is top contender since it has 32 velocity sensitive pads with aftertouch and 9 faders and whatnot so there is a lot of complex routing available with that. But I’ve been eyeing the MIDI fighters for a couple years now and they’re awesome. I have a lot of experience with Maschine but I’ve never owned the larger models and all the knobs and the added bonus of using the Maschine software as a plugin within Suite is cool.

I’ve been overthinking the decision a bunch so I figured I’d ask everyones opinion! Do any of you have experience with these controllers? Are there any controllers that you stand by? Pls help :robot:

Ummm…Push 2?

4 Likes

“I’m under a 400 (USD) budget”

Maybe push 1 then
Will still have the best integration with Ableton

5 Likes

Launchpad pro plus a launchcontrol xl probably if you find them second hand. Launchpad is kinda built to work with ableton and its pretty great as a standalone device too. Add launchcontrol for faders. Small footprint for both, APCs are pretty bulky and maschine runs its own software entirely, its basically a different DAW. Midi fighters are expensive and a bit shit imo, 16 buttons for over 200, you could probably build one yourself significantly cheaper

5 Likes