A thought about Elektron "marketing"

It might be a weird topic, but I wanted to share how I was able to “miss out” on Elektron devices for years.

I’m a jazz/house/funk musician - not Herbie Hancock by any means, but I’ve released a dozen of 12’’ records in a decade, and I own a fair amount of equipment. Two electric pianos, 4 synths etc.

Octatrack is absolutely a centrepiece of my studio and Digitakt is close second.

But I often feel bad that I only bought both of them 3 years ago. For years I was trying to achieve what I now do on OT with a lot of different samplers or combination of them.

I knew about OT when it was released, but this is the where the issue is - most of product presentation in last decade was focused on techno/IDM and people showing OT capabilities that were not of interest to me, or broadly speaking to musicians that are in similar genres (jazz, hip-hop, etc).

Only by my obsession of watching YouTube videos of people playing with their machines that I learned what Octatrack is capable of doing for a musician like me - for example I play keys, and what OT is capable of doing in terms of using 6 tracks as a looper for 64 step jazz phrases that can be immediately sliced on track 7 and randomly rearranged blew my mind.

Even now when I go back to some of the official videos and presentations I can hardly find anyone actually playing a piano or similar and recording it into OT…

I also think Jon Wayne did more for promotion of OT by showcasing how incredibly potent it is for hip-hop then anyone.