A Synth you Probably Never Knew Existed (Barely)

My brief background, in the 1970’s through the latter part of the 1980’s I was a Recording Engineer and Producer in NYC. I also owned my own 16 Track Recording Studio in my Home in Bayside Queens. I was one of the very first people to own an ARP 2600 in New York. I purchased it from Manny’s Music in 1972. I developed quite some skills using that machine and at one point owned two of them. I would often be called into various Studios to assist with Patch ideas. I also owned a Mini Moog. ARP String Ensemble and several other Synths.

Anyway, in the early 1980’s Sony Corp. took a look at entering into the arena of Musical Synthesizers. It think it was late 1980 when they introduced their first “Digital Musical Synthesizer” Code Name PCM at the Audio Engineering Society Convention at the Waldorf Astoria in NYC. The NY Staff at the Sony Showroom had no idea what it was or how to use it. Through a friend who designed their Booth I was hired a week in advance to demonstrate it at the Convention. I spent a week in the Sony 5th Ave. Showroom’s back room learning how it worked, how to program it etc. with no help from anyone, as the engineering team who developed it were all still in Japan.

For the entire week of the Convention I gave demonstrations of it with the little knowledge and experience I had with it but it did garner quite a bit of interest. The rumor going around Sony that it was going to be sent to Stevie Wonder after the show but I don’t know if that really happened ( I doubt it ).

My understanding at the time was Sony tried to gain more interest in it before going into any large production but gave up after Yamaha launched the DX7. I’d love to know if this machine or any others they may have made as prototypes still exist (I was told from Sony insiders that a few were made as prototypes with some different internal algorithms)

Here are a few pics of me giving a demo, and yes that is Tom Oberheim.