Digitakt 0-Coast and MIDI config and control

TL;DR I need help configuring MIDI connection and control between DT and 0-Coast

I got an 0-Coast on Tuesday and have been trying to figure out how to control it from DT.

I’m a total MIDI noob but I’ve been searching for answers and have been trying things on my own, but have come up dry.

I connected DT to OC via the DT MIDI OUT the first night and immediately began controlling the OC with simple MIDI commands on Track 9, MIDI channel 1. I tried Track 10 as MIDI channel 2, which also seemed to work, no difference in sounds though. Currently, only pitch bend works to change the nature of the OC sounds.

I went though the DT’s manual and checked the MIDI config pages

MakeNoise created an Ableton Max for Live plugin to use for configuring the OC. I can’t figure out how to connect Ableton to OC. I tried using a 3.5mm mono cable from my MacBook to OC; seems to have had no effect.

I can’t find the OC listed in the possible MIDI connections inside Ableton’s Preferences > MIDI settings.

For the MFL plugin, should I try connecting Ableton to DT via USB, then sending DT MIDI OUT to OC?

I seems like the OC may be configured by default to allow a range of 0-0 for many of the cc parameters, and I’m betting that I need to open those up to be 0-127, but haven’t figured that out yet.

And lastly, I haven’t figured out the difference between the MIDI A and MIDI B on the OC. I’m not sure, but it seems like both can be sent over different MIDI channels via the same MIDI input on the OC.